Triple Crown

The Triple Crown is the pinnacle of horseracing achievements for three-year-old thoroughbreds. It requires winning three of the biggest stakes races in the world, back to back to back, all within a five-week stretch that starts on the first Saturday of May.

The races, in order of running, are The Kentucky Derby, The Preakness Stakes two weeks later, and The Belmont Stakes three weeks after that. Each of these races is a prestigious event in and of itself but when a horse combines to win all of them the feat becomes legendary. In fact, only eleven horses have been Triple Crown winners.

Triple Crown Winners

1978AffirmedSteve CauthenLaz BarreraHarbor View Farm
1977Seattle SlewJean CruguetBilly TurnerKaren Taylor
1973SecretariatRon TurcotteLucien LaurinMeadow Stable
1948CitationEddie ArcaroBen A. JonesCalumet Farm
1946AssaultWarren MehrtensMax HirschKing Ranch
1943Count FleetJohnny LongdenDon CameronMrs. J.D. Hertz
1941WhirlawayEddie ArcaroBen A. JonesCalumet Farm
1937War AdmiralCharley KurtsingerGeorge ConwaySamuel Riddle
1935OmahaWillie SaundersJ.E. FitzsimmonsBelair Stud
1930Gallant FoxEarl SandeJ.E. FitzsimmonsBelair Stud
1919Sir BartonJohnny LoftusH. Guy BedwellJ.K.L. Ross

There have been 42 horses who won two of the three races. Here are the ones to win the first two and miss on the third.

2004Smarty Jones2nd (Birdstone)
2003Funny Cide3rd (Empire Maker)
2002War Emblem8th (Sarava)
1999Charismatic3rd (Lemon Drop Kid)
1998Real Quiet2nd (Victory Gallop)
1997Silver Charm2nd (Touch Gold)
1989Sunday Silence2nd (Easy Goer)
1987Alysheba4th (Bet Twice)
1981Pleasant Colony3rd (Summing)
1979Spectacular Bid3rd (Coastal)
1971Canonero II4th (Pass Catcher)
1969Majestic Prince2nd (Arts and Letters)
1968**Forward Pass2nd (Stage Door Johnny)
1966Kauai King4th (Amberoid)
1964Northern Dancer3rd (Quadrangle)
1961Carry Back7th (Sherluck)
1958Tim Tam2nd (Cavan)
1944Pensive2nd (Bounding Home)
1936Bold Venture(Did not start)
1932Burgoo King(Did not start)

**Won on disqualification.

Wager On Your Favorite Horse Now!